Accessibility options | A A A | text only

Environmental and Land-based

Find out more

Horses

General

National Careers Service

You can use this site to find out about all the jobs in this sector in more detail.

www.direct.gov.uk/diploma

The official government site about all the different diplomas.

www.sectorcareersinfo.co.uk

This site has a link to all sector skills councils.

Further information can be found on Lantra’s careers website However if you have a question you cannot find the answer to then further support and information can be provided through the Lantra Connect Service:

Tel: 0845 707 8007 or e-mail connect@lantra.co.uk

Agriculture

Agricultural Development and Advisory Service (ADAS): www.adas.co.uk

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra): www.defra.gov.uk

Environment Agency: www.environment-agency.gov.uk

Fertiliser Advisers Certification and Training Scheme (FACTS): www.factsinfo.org.uk

Landex. Website: www.landex.org.uk

National Farmers' Union (NFU: www.nfuonline.com

National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs (NFYFC. Website: www.nfyfc.org.uk

Society for the Environment (SocEnv): www.socenv.org.uk

Soil Association: www.soilassociation.org

Horticulture

Horticultural Trades Association (HTA: www.the-hta.org.uk

Institute of Horticulture (IoH): www.horticulture.org.uk

The Royal Horticultural Society (RHS): www.rhs.org.uk

Environmental

British Trust for Conservation Volunteers (BTCV): www.btcv.org

Countryside Management Association (CMA): www.countrysidemanagement.org.uk

Field Studies Council (FSC): www.field-studies-council.org

The British Ecological Society (BES): www.britishecologicalsociety.org

The Environment Council: www.the-environment-council.org.uk

Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management (IEEM): www.ieem.net

The Lemur Project, Herefordshire Nature Trust: www.projectlemur.org

The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Natural England: www.naturalengland.org.uk

The Woodland Trust: www.woodlandtrust.org.uk

The Wildlife Trusts: www.wildlifetrusts.org

Fisheries

British Trout Association www.britishtrout.co.uk

Institute of Fisheries Management (IFM): www.ifm.org.uk

Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation: www.scottishsalmon.co.uk

Gardening and Greenkeeping

The British and International Golf Greenkeepers Association (BIGGA): www.bigga.org.uk

Greenkeepers' Training Committee (GTC): www.the-gtc.co.uk

Greenspace: www.green-space.org.uk

GROW Your Own Career in Horticulture: www.growcareers.info

Horticultural Trades Association (HTA): www.the-hta.org.uk

Institute of Groundsmanship: www.iog.org

The Institute of Horticulture: www.horticulture.org.uk

Local Government Talent. Websites: www.lgcareers.com and www.lgjobs.com

Professional Gardeners' Guild. Website: www.pgg.org.uk

The Royal Horticultural Society: www.rhs.org.uk

Animals

Association of British Riding Schools (ABRS): www.abrs-info.org

Association of Chartered Physiotherapists in Animal Therapy (ACPAT): www.acpat.org

British Dressage: www.britishdressage.co.uk

British Equestrian Federation: www.bef.co.uk

British Grooms Association (BGA): www.britishgrooms.org.uk

British Horseracing Education and Standards Trust www.bhest.co.uk and www.racingtoschool.co.uk

British Veterinary Nursing Association (BVNA): www.bvna.org.uk

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra): www.defra.gov.uk

Horsehero: www.horsehero.com

Institute of Animal Technology (IAT): www.iat.org.uk

National Association of Veterinary Physiotherapists (NAVP): www.navp.co.uk

Royal Veterinary College (RVC): www.rvc.ac.uk

Pet Care Trust: www.petcare.org.uk

PDSA: www.pdsa.org.uk

Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS): www.rcvs.org.uk

RSPCA: www.rspca.org.uk

The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI): www.abpi.org.uk

The British Horse Society (BHS): www.bhs.org.uk

The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (CSP): www.csp.org.uk

The College of Animal Physiotherapy: www.animaltherapy.org

The International Association of Animal Therapists (IAAT): www.iaat.org.uk

 
The following documents are attached to this page, please click on an icon or the title to download (this will open a new window)
Pdf icon

Environment, Plants and Animals
Job Sector Factsheet, updated December 2011